Skip to main content

APRA's organisation structure

The complete org chart is described in detail below

APRA organisation structure

The APRA Executive Group consists of

  • John Lonsdale, Chair
  • Helen Rowell, Deputy Chair
  • Margaret Cole, Deputy Chair
  • Therese McCarthy Hockey, APRA Member
  • Suzanne Smith, APRA Member

The Audit & Risk Committee, Chief Internal Auditor and Chief Risk Officer – report directly to the Executive Group. The Chief Internal Auditor is Shane Campbell and the Acting Chief Risk Officer is Jo Bowles  

Six Executive Directors report to the Executive Group. The Executive Directors and the management teams that report to them are:

Executive Director, Policy & Advice, Renee Roberts

  • General Manager Policy, Gideon Holland 
  • General Manager Advice and Approvals, Robert Armstrong
  • General Counsel, Lucinda McCann
  • General Manager Resolution, Clare Gibney
  • General Manager Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Melisande Waterford
  • General Manager - Financial Regulator Assessment Authority Review, Raman Sandhu

Executive Director, Banking, Paul Tattersall (Acting)

  • General Manager - Branch 1, TBA 
  • General Manager - Branch 2, Lara Douglas 
  • General Manager - Branch 3, Chris Gower
  • General Manager Credit and Market Risk, Peter Diamond

Executive Director, Insurance, Sean Carmody

  • General Manager - Branch 1, Sharyn Reichstein
  • General Manager - Branch 2, John Huijsen
  • General Manager - Branch 3, Peter Kohlhagen
  • Head of Insurance Risk, Jonathan Wood

Executive Director, Superannuation, Katrina Ellis (Acting)

  • General Manager - Branch 1, Adrian Rees
  • General Manager - Branch 2, TBA
  • General Manager - Branch 3, Mike Cornwell

Executive Director, Cross-Industry Insights and Data, Brandon Khoo

  • General Manager Data Analytics, Alison Bliss
  • General Manager Operational Resilience, Bruce Young
  • General Manager Governance, Culture, Remuneration & Accountability, Stuart Bingham
  • General Manager Supervision Approach & Systems, Suzanne Johnson

Chief Operating Officer, Enterprise Services, Steve Matthews

  • General Manager People and Culture, Joanna Bakker
  • General Manager Corporate Affairs, Paula Hannaford
  • Chief Information Officer, Doug Jenkins
  • Chief Financial Officer, Sharon Burns
  • Senior Manager - Strategy and Performance, Maryanne Hinwood
  • Head of Project Delivery, Dave D'Mello

Divisions of APRA

APRA is organised into the following six divisions and one independent internal team:

  • Banking Division
  • Insurance Division
  • Superannuation Division
  • Policy and Advice Division
  • Cross-Industry Insights and Data Division
  • Enterprise Services Division
  • Internal Audit team.

APRA has an industry-based supervision model, with separate supervisory divisions responsible for superannuation, insurance and banking. These frontline divisions focus on financial and risk analysis as the primary part of their supervision function. This involves offsite analysis of data and information, regular contact with the supervised institutions as well as a continual program of onsite reviews.

The Banking Division is responsible for the supervision of licensed authorised deposit-taking institutions including banks, credit unions and building societies.

The Insurance Division is responsible for the prudential supervision of all licensed general insurers, life companies and friendly societies, as well as private health insurance organisations. 

The Superannuation Division is responsible for the prudential supervision of all registered superannuation entity licensees. 

The Policy and Advice Division ensures that APRA's frontline supervisors have the best possible tools to support them in their risk analysis and supervisory interventions. This division consists of Legal Services, Policy, Advice and Approvals, Resolution, and Licensing.

The Cross-Industry Insights and Data Division brings together specialists in statistics, industry analysis and risk to provide expertise in risk assessment, assisting frontline to supervise individual entities and industries as a whole. This division consists of Credit and Market Risk, Governance, Insurance and Operational Risk, Data Analytics and Supervisory Applications & Solutions functions.

Enterprise Services Division provides enterprise strategy and risk management, as well as corporate shared services functions that assist other divisions in achieving APRA's strategic objectives. The division consists of People and Culture, Information Technology, Corporate Affairs, Finance and Strategy functions.

The Internal Audit team advises on managing risk across all of APRA, with an independent reporting line to the Audit Committee and direct access to the APRA Members and Executive Board.